//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes, Reviews

Favourite Bakes: Carrot Cake

It is only fitting that my most popular blog post to date is a recipe by the queen of cakes and talented baker extordinaire, Mary Berry. Mary Berry Carrot CakeIt was part of the Weekly Bake-Off, a wonderful blog which each week picked a recipe from Mary Berry’s ‘100 Cakes and Bakes’ that you had to bake and share. Through this challenge I baked some things I never normally would have, such as Battenburg Cake and Chocolate Fudge Cake (of which surprisingly, I am not a big fan of). This is my fail safe recipe – I always come back to it and have made certain tweaks over the years to add my own style. The recipe can be found here.Icing the Carrot CakeAs it is a MB recipe, it is perfect as it is. HOWEVER, I tend to replace the walnuts with raisins, and add 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg for a bit of spice. Also, I am now a fan of covering it in runny orange icing, as it really compliments the texture. If anyone else has some carrot cake recommendations, let me know! Enjoy šŸ™‚

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Favourite Bakes: Carrot Cake

  1. This looks so good! Carrot cake is my absolute favorite cake. It also makes me feel less guilty knowing it has veggies haha. The recipe I always turn to is Simply Scratch’s Carrot Coconut cake. (http://www.simplyscratch.com/2010/11/carrot-coconut-cake.html)

    Posted by themindlessmusings | March 13, 2014, 15:23
  2. How yummy!

    Posted by sophiebowns | March 13, 2014, 17:10
  3. This is one of my favourite carrot cake recipes too! My other favourite is: http://whatdoyoumakeofmycake.blogspot.co.uk/2011/04/carrot-cake.html (early blog post!) I like the addition of dessicated coconut as added texture. I’ve heard the hummingbird bakery’s carrot cake recipe is really good but haven’t tried it yet. Sometimes I can’t be bothered faffing with layers and just want a big slab of cake! Hehe

    Posted by Jo | March 15, 2014, 17:28
  4. Jo – I love your blog and was looking at that post last week when researching other carrot cake recipes. I love the idea of adding coconut (a tropical edge!) And I agree about the layers, the bigger the slab the better!

    Posted by beesloveteas | March 15, 2014, 21:36

What do you think?

