//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes, Reviews

Hotel Chocolat Zebra Beastie Egg and Cookies

Chocolate is never something that should be done on the cheap; one of my mandatory life rules is to only enjoy good quality chocolate. So obviously I was thrilled when the lovely people at Hotel Chocolat offered to send me one of their Easter eggs to review. Every Christmas, I usually devour my way through one of their chocolate slabs, trying to make it last as long as possible (which I have found is impossible).Hotel Chocolate Zebra Beastie EggThe milk chocolate Zebra Beastie Egg lives up to the Hotel Chocolat reputation. The milky texture is divine, very creamy and unstoppably moreish. The beautiful pattern and presentation makes it a prime target for devouring, but also makes a lovely gift for someone special. The Beastie Egg comes with 6 praline and Salted Caramel mini eggs – sound like heaven? The mini eggs feel solid but completely dissolve in your mouth with a lovely bitter-sweet contrast between the praline and Salted Caramel. For those who are too full for dessert but need something sweet, these mini eggs are perfect. Hotel Chocolat offer a range of Salted Caramel products which I have never tried before, but will definitely be putting into my next order.Hotel Chocolat Mini EggsHaving been given some amazing quality chocolate, I could not resist the urge to bake with it. Many of you may be gasping in horror, but I just cannot help myself. After nibbling away at a chunk of the Zebra egg (and a few of the mini eggs), I decided to devote the rest to some cookies, who doesn’t love cookies?! I found a recipe from BBC Good Food which I adapted slightly to incorporate more of this wonderful chocolate – hopefully the lovely people at Hotel Chocolat can forgive for putting their egg to alternative use!Hotel Chocolat CookiesIngredients (makes around 18 cookies)

100g butter (softened)
100g light brown soft sugar
100g caster sugar
1 egg
1tsp vanilla extract
225g plain flour
140g milk chocolate
100g white chocolate

Pre-heat the oven to 180C and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper. Put the butter and sugars in a bowl and cream together with a wooden spoon. Melt half of the milk chocolate in the microwave, and then mix it into the cookie dough along with the egg, vanilla extract and flour. Chop the white chocolate and the remaining milk chocolate into chunks, and mix into the dough.Hotel Chocolat Cookie DoughUse a tablespoon or an ice-cream scooper to drop balls of the cookie dough onto the baking tray (with space between them to spread). Bake for 8 – 10 minutes, or until they turn pale golden brown and are still soft to touch. Leave them to cool on the tray, then carefully transfer to a wire rack with a spatula. Repeat until all the dough is cooked.Hotel Chocolat Cookies 2If you are looking to get someone (or yourself) a unique Easter egg this year, definitely order a Zebra Beastie Egg from Hotel Chocolat, or treat yourself to one of their other delicious offerings – enjoy 🙂

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Hotel Chocolat Zebra Beastie Egg and Cookies

  1. Yum…cookies and beastie egg. I totally agree about good quality chocolate. There is no excuse for eating bad chocolate. Anyone who knows me knows that I think “Hersheys” is a dirty word.

    Posted by Geni - Sweet and Crumby | April 3, 2013, 17:55
  2. Oh my goodness… salted caramel mini eggs? Sounds delish!
    Can you tell a big difference in the quality of chocolate you used in the cookies?

    Posted by TheImaginaryBakery (@ImaginaryCakery) | April 5, 2013, 21:31
    • They were amazing! Yeah – can definitely tell the difference between the quality of the chocolate used in cookies (and in cakes). Generally, my rule is that if I would eat it by itself, then it is good enough (as opposed to buying supermarket own-brand cheap stuff)

      Posted by beesloveteas | April 8, 2013, 14:04

What do you think?

