//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

Crunchie Millionaire Shortbread

As anyone who follows my blog knows, I like using different chocolate bars in my recipes (for example, my Snickers Cake or Bounty Cupcakes). Since I was a little girl, one of my favourite chocolate bars has been Crunchie Bars. Something about the honeycomb and chocolate combination has had me hooked for years (and yes, I do try to have one every Friday). After thinking long and hard about how to include them in a baked treat, I decided to use them in a millionaire shortbread recipe. Shortbread base, caramel filling and a chocolate Crunchie topping… who could resist! The recipe below is adapted from a Sainsbury’s recipe; in my opinion one of the best supermarket websites for recipes.Ingredients

Shortbread
160g plain flour
60g caster sugar
115g unsalted butter (cubed)

Caramel
397g condensed milk (1 tin)
100g light brown soft sugar
2 tbsp golden syrup
100g unsalted butter

Topping
200g milk chocolate
2 Crunchie Bars

Preheat the oven to 180C, and grease and line an 18cm square tin. Place the shortbread ingredients in a food processor and blitz together until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. If you have to do it by hand, ensure that the butter is hard and rub them all together with your fingers until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs. Pour into the tin, press down firmly and prick all over with a fork (to prevent from rising in the oven). Place in the fridge for 30 minutes, then put in the oven for 30 minutes until it has just turned golden brown. If it does rise in the oven, just prick it slightly when you take it out. Leave to cool completely in the tin.To make the caramel, put all the ingredients in a pan and place over a medium heat. Bring to the boil (stirring continuously), and then boil for a further 8 – 10 minutes, stirring all the time until it is thick and pale. Pour the caramel over the shortbread and allow to cool for 45 minutes.Melt the milk chocolate either over a pan of boiling water or in the microwave. Pour over the caramel layer and spread evenly with a spatula. Crush the Crunchie bars and sprinkle all over the melted chocolate. Place in the fridge and leave to firm up for at least 2 hours (or ideally overnight). Slice into squares with a sharp knife and store in the fridge – they should last for up to 1 week.It does take awhile to make these (as each layer needs to set before you can start the next one), but they are perfect to satisfy chocolate cravings. Next time I make these, I will probably half the ingredients of the caramel layer and use 300g of chocolate instead, but that is just a personal preference. Enjoy 🙂

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Crunchie Millionaire Shortbread

  1. What an excellent combination ,ticks all the boxes for me, shortbread, caramel, chocolate, and crunchie bars or anything with Cadbury chocolate around it really.

    Posted by Gary Daniels | September 30, 2012, 19:11
  2. Oh my Goooooodness, they look LUSH x

    Posted by roswensian | September 30, 2012, 19:29
  3. These look fantastic – well done!

    Posted by kerrycooks | September 30, 2012, 20:05
  4. This is a great idea! I adore crunchie!

    Posted by frugalfeeding | September 30, 2012, 21:44
  5. My crunchie and millionaire shortbread loving friend would quite possibly die of excitement if she saw these. Look at that thick layer of caramel. YUM! I think I’ll have to forward this recipe to her 🙂

    Posted by Jo | October 1, 2012, 20:04
  6. Omg that looks amazing!

    Posted by dillytante | October 7, 2012, 07:32
  7. Yum!! I love crunchie!!!

    Posted by Charisma | September 28, 2013, 16:17

What do you think?

