//
You're reading...
Reviews

With Love from Brownie Heaven

Brownies are divine little chocolate drops from heaven….. or just a wonderful bit of baked goodness to make any day feel fantastic. So imagine my joy when I was given the chance to taste and review some brownies – for a chocoholic such as myself, this is almost like getting knighted 🙂

Brownie Heaven is a supplier of choco-magic from my hometown in Yorkshire, so tasting these had an extra special place in my heart. Battling through the snow, I managed to make it back up North earlier this month to collect the goodies from their home base, a lovely restaurant called Dine on the Rowe in Beverley.

The chef Jason was more than happy to provide me with an ample stash of brownies to review, and thankfully I had my trusty crew of taste testers at home ready to help (my mother and younger sister). I was given a selection of 4 brownies to see whether they really do live up to their reputation of the best brownies in Beverley.

                                                                                               Hazelnut Brownie (Gluten-free)

The first tried was a Gluten-free Hazelnut Brownie. Any readers of this blog will know my everlasting love for anything that combines chocolate and hazelnut so this one was a real treat. This brownie had that lovely soft texture that one expects of this bake, which was nice as I was worried that the gluten-free aspect might take away from this. The hazelnut taste was subtle, therefore good for both those who love and dislike it.

                                                                                                   Chilli Dark Chocolate Brownie

The next one really blew my socks off (quite literally) – a Chilli Dark Chocolate Brownie. The first 3 bites tricked me into believing that it was a normal chocolate brownie, but then a fiery chilli bang came through to set my mouth alight. For me, it was a bit too hot, however it went down an absolute treat with my mum who would happily cover most meals in hot chilli powder. This is definitely one for the chilli lovers and not the faint-hearted, however I would recommend small bite sizes amounts as opposed to a full piece. It would go very well with creamy vanilla ice-cream to help keep the mouth cool in between bites.

                                                                                                             Gluten-free Blondie

A new one for me was the Gluten-free Blondie. I have made a few batches of blondies over the past few weeks and really enjoyed experimenting with different additions. I would have to say that this was my least favourite of the brownies – the texture was a tad too heavy and I got a very strong taste of almonds (which I am assuming was the substitute for the flour). However again, my sister loved the white chocolate taste of this one, so different palettes brought up different opinions. I would love to taste a gluten-ful version of this from Brownie Heaven, as I imagine it would be divine.

                                                                                                      Dark Chocolate Brownie

I definitely saved the best for last – the traditional Dark Chocolate Brownie. This was exactly as a brownie should be: a soft gooey texture with a rich dark chocolate taste. There there was enough to go around for us all to have 1 each – and thank goodness or a fight may have broken out! Unless another brownie supplier in Beverley wishes to challenge this, I can whole-heartedly agree that these dark chocolate ones are the best brownies in Beverley.

Many thanks to Brownie Heaven for fuelling my chocolate addiction and giving me the chance to sample their fantastic goods. I would definitely recommend everyone to follow them on twitter and give their website a good browse when next thinking about ordering some brownies (their new website will be up and running soon). AND to make things even better, they are having a fantastic competition on facebook in which you can win a Brownie Mountain for a loved one – visit their page to enter (but hurry, as it ends this Friday!) Enjoy 🙂

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

