//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

Bee’s Bewildering Blondies

Of all the posts I’ve listed so far, the one recipe I have not yet shared with my avid readers is one for brownies. What can I say about them? As well as containing CHOCOLATE, they are just a wonderful treat to bake. They can be eaten at afternoon tea, put in a lunchbox, or served warm with ice-cream to make a posh and yummy dessert! I never seem to make the same brownies twice as I am always adding new ingredients, especially different fruits and nuts. For those of you new to the brownie world, I would recommend starting with the Cookies and Cream recipe in Baking Made Easy by Lorraine Pascale – easy and delicious!

So, to take my baking to the next level, I decided to try my hand at a different form of brownies: blondies. There are a few different definitions of blondies; some believe that a blondie is made by replacing the dark chocolate in brownies with white chocolate, whilst others think that a blondie is made by replacing the chocolate in brownies with brown sugar. I prefer the first definition, so I adapted a blondie recipe from Short and Sweet by Dan Lepard. I changed a few bits in this recipe which means that the pre-baked mixture was more dough-like than runny, however once baked it was crunchy on the outside, and soft and squishy on the inside – just like any brownie derivative should be!

Ingredients:

225g caster sugar
100g butter
200g white chocolate (broken into pieces)
1 medium egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
225g plain flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
100g dark chocolate (chips or chopped into small pieces)
75g dried cranberries or flaked almonds (or a mixture of both)

Preheat the oven to 180C and line a square 20cm tin with foil. Melt the butter and white chocolate in a pan over a low heat, stirring occasionally. Once melted, scrape into a bowl, add the sugar, egg, cranberries/almonds and vanilla extract and beat until smooth. Sift in the flour and baking power, add the chocolate and folded until just combined.

Drop the mixture until the tin and level it out to the edges so that it has a smooth top. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, or until golden brown on the top and just firm when you touch it (even with a slight wobble, it is still fine). Leave the blondies in the tin until they are completely cold, then cut into squares. Store in an air-tight container and they should last for 3 to 4 days.

If almonds or cranberries are not your favourite, trying swapping them with roasted hazelnuts or raisins (whatever takes your fancy). I love how the dark chocolate chips are still gooey once cooled, and if you fancy making them a bit ‘posh’, warm them up and serve with a big dollop of vanilla ice-cream, enjoy 🙂

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Bee’s Bewildering Blondies

  1. Oh my gosh, looks amazing! xo

    Posted by denaed | January 17, 2012, 07:42
  2. I’ve made blondies before, and was a tad disappointed in how they turned out, but by gosh yours look fantastic that I want to try them again.

    Posted by shaheen | January 17, 2012, 16:14

What do you think?

