//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

Apple Crumble Cake for Tea

As autumn and winter approach, it is time for nice warming foods, and there is no better dessert than a crumble. I love crumble, wait no, I LOVE crumble. If I could eat it everyday, then I would, and the simplicity of a crumble means that I can! Apples, blackberries, rhubarb, raspberries, pears….it is guaranteed that most people have some sort of fruit in their household, so perhaps crumbles should be mandatory everyday?

Ok, back to reality. So with my love for cake and crumble, I thought that why not combine the two for a massive taste explosion – an Apple Crumble Cake. This can also be adapted with other fruits (blackberries or pears for example). This is also my entry into this month’s Pink Whisk Challenge, a monthly challenge set by the fabulous Ruth Clemens who was the runner-up on last year’s Great British Bake Off (and also has a fabulous site, check it out).

I have used an Apple Yoghurt Teacake recipe which I found in an old recipe book of my mum’s, and adapted to incorporate the crumble. This makes the cake more moist and adds a bit more authenticity to the apple crumble effect!

Ingredients:

Cake
150g butter (chopped)
200 caster sugar
2 medium eggs
1tsp vanilla essence
185g self-raising flour
185g vanilla flavoured yoghurt
1 apple (peeled, cored and thinly sliced)
1tsp cinnamon

Crumble
100g plain flour
50g rolled oats
100g butter (cubed)
100g brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas 4, and grease a line a 20cm cake tin. Cream together 130g of the butter and 185g of the sugar in a bowl until light and creamy. Gradually beat in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition, and then add the vanilla essence. Fold in the flour, add the yoghurt and stir until smooth. Pour the mixture into the tin and smooth the surface. Arrange the apple slices evenly over the top of the mixture. Sprinkle over the cinnamon and remaining sugar, melt the remaining butter and drizzle over the top. Place in the oven for 20 minutes.

To make the crumble, place all the ingredients in a bowl and rub together with your fingers until it resembles breadcrumbs (the only technique possible to make a good crumble!). After the 20 minutes, take the cake out of the oven and scatter the crumble mixture evenly over the top so that is entirely covered. Return to the oven for a further 30-40 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean. Leave to cool in the tin for 15 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and leave to cool completely.

If you have any crumble mixture leftover, bake it in a square tin at 180C/Gas 4 for 20 – 25 minutes to make lovely crumble biscuits (great on ice-cream!). This cake is served best with double cream and satisfies the cravings for cake and crumble at the same time! Enjoy 🙂

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Apple Crumble Cake for Tea

  1. Looks delicious! I love crumble too, maybe we should start some sort of support group?

    (I am having apple and pear crumble tonight! I need help!)

    Posted by nelly | October 8, 2011, 17:17
    • Hi, my name is Beckie and I am a crumbleholic. I eat crumble roughly 3-4 times a week, and I steal apples from my neighours tree in order to make apple crumble…………………. Never! Vive le crumble!

      Posted by beesloveteas | October 8, 2011, 17:23
  2. Delicious! I’ll try for sure!:)

    Posted by Lost in Town | October 8, 2011, 17:40
  3. These look like your Mother’s apples!

    Posted by Mark Smith | October 8, 2011, 19:51
  4. Apple crumble is my all time favourite – so much so that my daughter says I traumatised her as a child for giving it to her so often! Really looking forward to trying this recipe as it looks yummy!

    Posted by Blissfully Vintage | October 14, 2011, 13:32

What do you think?

