//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

‘Get in my Belly’ Buttery Flapjacks

Flapjacks have always been one of my favourite goodies to make, just as they are super easy and stupidly sugary. Over the years, they have been the snack of choice during summer sports camp, Duke of Edinburgh walks and bake sales. I like to leave a little bit of the mixture at the end to nibble on, as it is still gooey and warm at this point!

I’ve always tended to use drier flapjack recipes which produce more chewy slices, so after searching far and wide, I found a recipe on the Channel 4 Food website which created deliciously soft and buttery flapjacks. After a few adjustments, I seem to have found the ultimate flapjack recipe to satisfy all my sugar and butter needs!

Ingredients:

150g butter (plus a bit extra for tin greasing)
50g golden caster sugar
4 tbsp golden syrup
250g rolled oats
75g chocolate (milk or dark, chopped into small pieces)
50g raisins
1/2 tsp cinnamon or nutmeg

Preheat the oven to 190C/Gas 5 and grease a shallow 20cm tin with a generous amount of butter, as this means that you will not need to line it with greaseproof paper. Melt the butter, golden caster sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan over a medium heat, stirring occasionally. Once melted, add the oats and cinnamon or nutmeg (whichever takes your fancy), and stir until it is all combined. Leave to cool for a few minutes, then add the raisins and chocolate and stir in slowly (too quickly and the chocolate will melt). Press the mixture into the tin and bake in the oven for about 20 minutes (or until the edges start to turn golden). Leave the mixture to cool in the tin for about 10 minutes and then carefully cut into slices (not too quickly as they will still be soft and may lose their shape if you pull the knife too fast). Leave to cool completely in the tin before turning out. Place them in a cake tin and they should last at least 3 – 4 days.

Best served with hot custard, crumbled over ice-cream or as part of the topping of an apple crumble! Enjoy 🙂

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “‘Get in my Belly’ Buttery Flapjacks

  1. Oh WOW! Those look Great! Thanks for sharing

    Posted by Modern Mrs. Cleaver | September 1, 2011, 23:41
  2. I’ve been trying to find the perfect flapjack recipe, looks like I have now 🙂 I fancy adding some seeds too, so I can pretend they are healthy!

    Posted by riversidebaking | September 6, 2013, 13:37

What do you think?

