//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

Apple, Chocolate and Almond Crumble

The weather has been a bit all over the place this summer; hot one minute, raining the next. I imagine that this has been a nuisance for those who are very seasonal with their food; eating stews in the winter and salads in the summer. Thankfully, I am not at all like that. I have porridge nearly everyday, and enjoy a roast dinner even when the weather is 28C (however I would prefer not to be the person in the kitchen cooking it). Therefore, when I found myself with some spare apples, I thought what better to make than a good old-fashioned crumble.I am a big fan of fruit crumbles; apple, pears and blackberries being my favourite. However sometimes it is nice to add a few extra elements, which is why I thought to add chocolate and almonds. I also add oats in my crumble mixture, as it gives an extra crunch and another texture.

Ingredients

Stewed Apples
5 apples (skinned, cored and sliced)
2 tbsp caster sugar
5 tbsp water
1 tsp mixed spice

Crumble Topping
85g butter (cold and cubed)
50g oats
100g plain flour
75g caster sugar (plus a bit extra to sprinkle on top)
2 tbsp cocoa powder
Pinch of salt
Handful of flaked almonds

Place the stewed apple ingredients in a medium saucepan, place over a medium heat and leave to simmer until the apples are soft (about 15 to 20 minutes). Drain the excess juice and place the apples in the crumble tin (I only had 3 apples, hence why my photo looks slightly sparse!)Preheat the oven to 190C. Put the butter, oats, flour, salt, sugar and cocoa powder in a large bowl, and rub together with your fingertips until the mixture resembles crumbs. Pour the crumble mixture over the apples and press down firmly. Sprinkle a teaspoon of sugar over the topping and place in the oven. After 10 minutes remove from the oven, scatter over some flaked almonds, and place back in the oven for a further 15-20 minutes.Serve hot with custard or ice-cream – enjoy :)

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

