//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

Bakewell Flapjacks

I recently went out for afternoon tea with a good friend of mine to 108 Marylebone – a charming hotel situated just off the hustle and bustle of Oxford Street. As well as the snug lounge, beautiful surroundings and elegant tea stand, the selection of treats were delicious. My favourite was by far the bakewell slice which had a subtle crumbly texture to it and made me think of another of my favourite homemade treats – flapjack. Since tasting it, I have had it on my mind so I decided to try to create a bake combining the two :)

20120715-150440.jpgIngredients

150g butter plus extra for greasing
50g caster sugar
4 tbsp golden syrup
200g rolled oats
50g ground almonds
1 tsp almond extract
3 tbsp jam (raspberry, strawberry or blueberry)
Handful of flaked almonds

Preheat the oven to 190C and generously grease a square tin with butter (as then you will not need to use greaseproof paper). Gently melt the butter, sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan over a medium heat.

20120715-150341.jpgOnce all melted, add the oats, ground almonds and almond extract and mix until fully combined. Spoon half of the flapjack into the tin and gently flatten to cover the surface. Place the jam in a small bowl, mix to loosen up and spread all over the flapjack base – leaving a frame around the edge. Strawberry or raspberry jam would work best, but I used blueberry as I absolutely love it.

20120715-150405.jpgSpoon the rest of the flapjack on top and gently spread out so that it covers all of the jam. Sprinkle over the flaked almonds and place in the oven.

20120715-150415.jpgBake for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the edges start to go golden brown. Leave to cool completely in the tin, then carefully cut into slices (as they will still be very moist). These will keep in an air tight container for up to 3 days, and are perfect with a cup of tea.

 

20120715-150433.jpgThese flapjacks are also my entry into Challenge Flapjack by the lovely Homemade by Fleur – a fantastic blog competition looking for the ultimate flapjack recipe (with Sainsburys choosing the winner!) I am really excited to see what the other contestants have created as I am always on the look out for new and interesting flapjack recipes!

 

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Bakewell Flapjacks

  1. They look gorgeous!

    Posted by kerrycooks | July 16, 2012, 20:09
  2. They are… just made them myself!!!

    Posted by Sharon Reed (@SyrupyCupcakes) | July 16, 2012, 21:02
  3. Fabulous idea for flapjacks and i’ve no doubt they tasted amazing too. Thank you do much for entering challenge flapjack. X

    Posted by Homemade by Fleur | October 25, 2012, 23:13
  4. Made them today…..extremely yummy! :)

    Posted by Adie | November 2, 2012, 16:00
  5. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up. The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Ie.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon.
    Cheers

    Posted by Stacy | March 10, 2013, 08:37
  6. I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Posted by Cassandra | June 13, 2013, 11:04

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Challenge Flapjack: The Round Up! | homemadebyfleur.co.uk - October 25, 2012

  2. Pingback: Tea Time Treats: English Madeleines | beesteas - April 14, 2013

  3. Pingback: World Baking Day 19th May: Bakewell Tart Biscuits | beesteas - May 12, 2013

What do you think?

