//
You're reading...
Baking, Recipes

Malteser Cake: No Bake and No Fuss

This week is National Chocolate week, a pure celebration of one of the greatest things ever invented. So to participate in this week (besides eating chocolate with every meal), I decided to bake one of my favourite (and easiest) chocolate recipes which I got from my sister years ago: Malteser cake. This cake requires no baking and no fuss, just a few hours to chill in the fridge. I’ve found that it is perfect for those times when you have promised to make something and you do not have a lot of time. Also, the most important factor is that it is really REALLY yummy!


Ingredients:

85g butter
2 tbsp golden syrup
2 tbsp cocoa powder
170g digestives
175g Maltesers

Melt the butter and golden syrup in a small heavy base saucepan over a low heat until melted. Whilst melting, crush all the digestives and half of the Maltesers (leaving the other half whole).

Once the butter/golden syrup mixture is melted, stir in the cocoa powder, digestives and crushed Maltesers.

Leave the mixture to cool slightly and then stir in the whole Maltesers. Line a loaf tin with cling film and gently pour and push the mixture into the tin (being careful not to crush the whole Maltesers).

Leave to chill in the fridge for 2-3 hours until set. If you need it to set faster, then pop it in the freezer forĀ 30 minutes instead. I would recommend small pieces (especially for kids) as it has a lot of sugar in it! It is fantastic with a cup of tea, curled up on the sofa watching a good movie (or as I found last night, the perfect midnight treat!) Enjoy :)

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Malteser Cake: No Bake and No Fuss

  1. Lovely :-) So simple and yet so perfect. Want some now but am in the office today so Humphf! :-(

    Posted by Urvashi @ The Botanical Baker | October 13, 2011, 12:12
  2. Such a good idea – I never thought of putting malteasers into a tiffin/rocky road style thing!

    Posted by kerrycooks | October 14, 2011, 21:28
  3. This looks SO good! I’ve just copied the recipe into my recipe book, it’s gotta be done! Think I should wait til I have people over though or there;s a serious risk I’ll eat the lot and die of chocolate overload!! X

    Posted by Weekly Bake Off | October 26, 2011, 08:53
  4. Made this today along with the bakewell flapjacks……mmm delicious. :)

    Posted by Adie | November 2, 2012, 16:03

What do you think?

