//
You're reading...
Baking, Reviews

Snickers Cake

One thing I love is baking yummy treats from my childhood (fairy cakes, flapjacks, etc). So I got to thinking and decided why not try to recreate one of my favourite chocolate bars in a cake form. I have quite a special relationship with snickers bars, as they form part of my earliest memory (which has kindly been pieced together by my mum who always reminds me of the story). When I was about 3, I accidentally disturbed a bee’s nest whilst on holiday in Devon and got stung all over my head and neck. Luckily – thanks to my African roots – I had lots of big bushy hair at the time which prevented the bees from getting to my scalp, but the doctors still wanted me to take an antihistamine tablet. Being the fussy eater I was, I refused to swallow the tablet, and remember keeping my mouth firmly shut as my parents tried to feed it to me. However, knowing my love for chocolate, my mum brought a snickers bar, broke it in half and stuffed the tablet inside. I remember happily munching away, not realising that I had been tricked (and this is the first sweet thing I can remember eating – the start of a wonderful relationship!).

After much researching and deliberating, I decided to make a peanut butter and caramel sponge, adding a layer of milk chocolate in the middle before smoothing it in even more chocolate…….

Ingredients:

200g butter (softened and chopped into small bits)
3 tbsp crunchy peanut butter
225g caster sugar
225g self-raising flour
4 medium eggs
2 tsp caramel syrup (I would recommend Malmesbury Syrups)
50g – 100g roasted peanuts (chopped)
300g milk chocolate

Pre-heat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4, and grease and line two 20cm loaf tins. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, and then add the peanut butter and cream for a few more minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, combining well before adding the next. Mix in the peanuts and caramel syrup, then fold in the sifted flour until all combined. Divide the mixture between the two loaf tins and bake for about 20 – 25 minutes, or until golden brown on top and a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean. Leave to cool in the tins for 5 minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack. Once they have cooled completely, carefully chop off the tops so that they are level. Wrap up the cut-off tops in cling-film and freeze as these would make as a great addition to a cheesecake base.

Break up 100g of the milk chocolate into a heat-proof bowl and place over a pan of simmering water (make sure that the base of the bowl is not touching the water). Stir occasionally until it has all melted, and then leave it to cool for 5 minutes. Once cooled, use a spatula to spread a layer of chocolate over the sponge which will be the base of the cake. Turn the other sponge upside down and sandwich the two together (which will give the cake a flat top). Melt the remaining 200g of milk chocolate in the same way, and then pour it over the cake and spread using a spatula, ensuring that the sides and corners are all covered. That was enough chocolate for this one but should the cake be slightly bigger it may need more chocolate (or just add more if you want to!). Leave this to drip dry on the wire rack in the fridge over a plate. Once it is semi-solid, use a sharp knife to cut the dripping bits from the bottom, transfer it to a board and keep it in the fridge for up to 1 week (yum yum!)

The peanut butter and caramel sponge with a chocolate layer worked well in this case, however omitting the caramel syrup and adding a layer of caramel in the centre instead of the chocolate would definitely make it more authentic (but perhaps a bit too sweet). Please let me know what you think (and if anyone is around East London over the next few days, pop in for a slice!)

About beesloveteas

I am a keen baker who loves all things sweets and yummy! This site is for me to share recipes, review a range of things which I love and generally share the baking joy. If you have any comments or recipes which you think that I would like, then please get in touch!

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Snickers Cake

  1. I seriously love this :-)

    Posted by cazhugs | August 21, 2011, 17:52
  2. Just tasted this – I feel honoured to be made an official taster by blogging the result here. It’s DELICIOUS! Really tastes like Snickers…but in a whole new cakey way. Yum! Thanks Beckie.

    Posted by Zoƫ | August 21, 2011, 18:21
  3. I love that your first memory involves chocolate! I think almost ALL my memories involve chocolate! Really great bake, and welcome to the world of food blogging!

    Posted by katescakesandbakes | August 21, 2011, 18:25
  4. Literally about 5mins ago, Rachel turned to me and said “Ben, I really want Snickers cake” – I had no idea what she was talking about…. until now! – Nice to see that you have your blog up and running now. I have subscribed and will keep track of your posts.

    P.S. I would like to volunteer for the potion of “official taste tester” please!

    Posted by Ben Child | August 21, 2011, 19:02
  5. Looks good… I think it’d be good with a thick layer of dulce de leche in the middle instead of chocolate though!

    Posted by Charlie M (@Charlie628) | August 21, 2011, 20:48
  6. So glad to see you using the syrups I make and enjoying them. The cake looks FAB. Well done you

    Posted by Sharon Reed (@SyrupyCupcakes) | August 23, 2011, 16:33

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Tropical Bounty Cupcakes « beesteas - June 17, 2012

  2. Pingback: Crunchie Millionaire Shortbread « beesteas - September 30, 2012

What do you think?

